June 25, 2003

City Council Meeting July 8, 2003

Mayor and Members of the City Council

CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS - JULY 2003

Recommendation:

It is recommended that the City Council appoint delegates and alternates to the various committees (see attached updated list), consistent with the policy of maintaining permanent representation whenever possible, and delete any obsolete temporary subcommittees as appropriate.

Background:

At its meeting of June 24, 2003, the City Council acted to appoint the following:

- Mayor (term ending Tuesday, April 13	3, 2003):	Michael Keegan
- Mayor Pro Tempore (same term as Mayor):		Art Yoon
- L.A. County City Selection Committee Delegate:		Mayor Keegan
- South Bay Cities Sanitation District	Delega	te: Mayor Keegan
Al	ternate:	Mayor Pro Tem Yoon

(At that time, the Council also appointed Mayor Keegan as delegate and Mayor Pro Tem Yoon as alternate to the Inglewood Fire Training Authority. Subsequent to that meeting, it came to the attention of staff that the authority no longer exists since Inglewood switched to the L.A. County Fire Department. That subcommittee has therefore been deleted from the attached list.)

The appointment of delegates and alternates for the remainder of the Council committee assignments was postponed to July 8. The September 2002 committee-assignment list (attached) has been updated to include the changes made at the last meeting. Council members are requested to contact Mayor Keegan prior to the July 8 meeting concerning any preferences with regard to committee assignments.

Please note that the appointed delegate and alternate should be the same for both the South Bay Cities Council of Governments and the LAX Committee since their meetings occur back-to-back on the same day and at the same location.

Also, two of the committees require resolutions for the appointments of delegates and alternates. Councilmember Dunbabin is the current delegate and Finance Director Viki Copeland the current alternate for the Independent Cities Lease Finance Authority (ICLFA). Councilmember Edgerton is the current delegate for the Independent Cities Risk Management Association (ICRMA); Personnel/Risk Management Director Michael Earl is the designated alternate, and Finance Director Viki Copeland and is the substitute alternate representative who would serve in the absence of the appointed delegate and alternate. If assignment changes are made this evening with regard to either of those committees, an appropriate resolution will be placed on the consent calendar of the July 22 agenda for Council adoption.

Following the assignments of delegates and alternates, letters will be sent to the appropriate boards and committees, and the list of newly appointed delegates and alternates will be forwarded to Council.

Elaine Doerfling, City Clerk

NOTED:

Stephen R. Burrell, City Manager