May 12, 2004

City Council Meeting May 25, 2004

Mayor and Members of the City Council

VACANCIES - BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS UPCOMING EXPIRATION OF TERMS

Recommendation:

It is recommended that the City Council direct the City Clerk to immediately advertise and request applications from interested parties for three Planning Commission terms that will expire June 30, 2004, and two Civil Service Board terms that will expire July 15, 2004.

Background:

The expiration of terms on the above-noted boards/commissions occurs in late June and mid-July. Following established procedures, this matter is being brought to the attention of Council at this time for direction with regard to advertising and inviting applications for the upcoming term expirations.

Traditionally, Council has directed that all seats be advertised. One notice inviting applications for all board/commission seats would be published, setting a filing deadline of Monday, June 21, with a report back to Council at its meeting of June 22 for the scheduling of applicant interviews, with appointments to be made at the July 13, meeting.

PLANNING COMMISSION

Three terms ending June 30, 2004

These seats are currently held by Kent Allen, Langley Kersenboom, Ronald Pizer -- all three are eligible for reappointment. Mr. Allen has served on the Commission since February 10, 2004, when he was appointed to fill an unexpired term. Mr. Kersenboom has served on the Commission since July 11, 2000. Mr. Pizer, who was reappointed on July 11, 2000, has served on the Commission since July 23, 1996. Appointments for these three seats will be for four-year terms ending June 30, 2008.

CIVIL SERVICE BOARD

Two terms ending July 15, 2004

These seats are currently held by Michael D'Amico and L. Dwight Taggart -- both are eligible for reappointment. Mr. D'Amico, who was reappointed on June 27, 2000, has served on the Board since his initial appointment on November 26, 1991, when he was appointed to fill an unexpired term. Mr. Taggart, who also was reappointed on June 27, 2000, has served on the Board since his initial appointment on June 23, 1992. Appointments for these two seats will be for four-year terms ending July 15, 2008.

Elaine Doerfling, City Clerk

Noted:

Stephen R. Burrell, City Manager